Thread: Anniversary blanket chest – design suggestions requested

Blog Entries

Anniversary blanket chest – design suggestions requested

Lord willing, my bride and I will celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary next year.

I recently built a Pine chest with a Coopered, curved lid as a Christmas gift for my nephew– here are couple pictures:
    1.2.jpg1.3.jpg

I kinda like the design and am planning to build two smaller versions with some African mahogany I found in the cut off bin in my local lumber yard. I thought I might decorate one of the chests for our anniversary.This is my first time repeating a project have built before. One of the lessons I learned from my first experiences is building the coopered top to predefined dimensions is a bit iffy, so best to build those first. Here are some pictures of the two chest lids.
    4.jpg1.jpg

My previous experience with African mahogany is the reversing, rowed grain is tough to plane without tear out. For final finish planing I used an HT Gordon plane with a 60° bed angle and was able to get a fairly tear out free surface. I haven't used this plane much because I find it difficult to push through harder domestic woods, but this mahogany is fairly soft and it was a pleasure to use.
    2.jpg5.5.jpg

Here's a picture of some of the chest parts.

5.jpg

The panels are re-sawn, book matched. Unlike the pine chest, I'm planning some decoration for the chest panels so they'll be one continuous, flat surface without the decorative rabbits I used in the pine chest. For the anniversary chest, I'm thinking about some simple Holly line and berry inlay for the top and maybe some applied carvings of intertwined wedding bands with our wedding/anniversary dates etc. for the chest front. I'm wondering if it's a bad idea to combine inlay with carvings on the same piece? I suck at design, and very much appreciate any and all suggestions.