Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Festool Sanders and Dust Collector from a cheap guy

Festool Sanders and Dust Collector from a cheap guy

I would like to start off by explaining my situation. I have been building furniture for more that 25 years. Until the last two years I did it for family and friends mostly, without much payment. The last couple of years my son and I started a website, and began to do this as a weekend business. I had no idea how many people wanted solid wood furniture built and our little business has taken off.

As most of us agree, sanding just stinks! I have had many different sanders over the years and they all seem to be the same....long and tedious to get to the end result. Some of you might remember that I started a thread asking if the Festool sanders were really that much better. I was amazed at the responses that seem to all focus on the dust collection. The thing that amazed me is that the sanders are really the difference. (of course, the dust collection is second to none) I started off with the 6 inch 5mm sander (new design) and the way it ate the wood, smoothed the surface, created a finish that I've never felt before (maybe because I spent so much time sanding with my past sanders getting to an acceptable level I never went to the next grit), I was instantly sold. The finish on my last dresser top was amazing.

So it's only been a couple of weeks but I am so impressed I have now invested in the 5 inch Rotex and the DTS 400 triangle sander.