Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I had two cutting boards blow up....

fran tarkenton Guest

I had two cutting boards blow up....

I made two end grain chaotic patterned cutting boards that ended up exploding under their own pressure/stress. I am relatively new to this and I am assuming they popped because I framed them all around....?? The photos are pre-disaster. They both cracked/expanded/split clear through the entire width of the board. ( If I can find a photo of the broken boards I will attach them later and edit the post.)

the walnut framed one popped after about 6 months and the thicker curly maple one popped after about 6 weeks. Both were made with totally dry wood. Obviously it's my error... Can someone explain the physics involved and why framing an end grain board results in disaster?

the thick board I was able to chop into pieces and make this wacky bowl... The other I'm going to just cut the ends off and call it good. I'd appreciate thoughts, feedback and some education. TIA!

image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

I dont have the photo of the maple one, but it did break more violently. It "popped" while leaning up against a kitchen wall. It had never been used or exposed to any water (the person I gave it to said it was "too nice to use"). It did have rubber feet, as well.

the walnut board also "popped" (less violently) and looks like this:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by fran tarkenton; 12-17-2015 at 1:20 AM. Reason: added details and 1 photo