Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Joinery Question from a Newbie--3-way intersection

Question Joinery Question from a Newbie--3-way intersection

So I am pretty new to woodworking (I have made a storage banquette and my workbench so far). For my third project, I am going to make a table base for a new kitchen table. The space in our kitchen is tight, so I need a compact design (30" x 60--65") with plenty of leg room. In order to make leg room on the ends, I am going to have bottom stretcher that will also provide table legs at each end as was done in this picture I found online:trestle_table_picture.jpg.

For my table, however, I discovered that I cannot spread the legs out as was done in the above photo. Instead, I really need to have my table legs in the middle so that the stretcher and the table feet would all intersect. The joint for this intersection of three boards is my problem.

I have designed a tentative joint in which the stretcher (2" wide, 4" tall) and the table feet (2.5" wide, 3" tall) would be joined by a lap joint. The top half of that lap joint (the stretcher part) would also be a through tenon that goes through the table leg (2.5" deep, 3" wide). The table leg would then go around the stretcher and end in a double through tenon that connects it to the table feet.

I made the joint in Sketchup. Here are some images of the joint apart and together:
    From Above: Root Joint for Trestle Table--Apart.jpg
    From Below: Root Joint for Trestle Table--Apart from Below.jpg
    Together: Root Joint for Trestle Table--Together.jpg

My question is: does this look like a viable joint, or have I overlooked something. I like it because I am laminating the feet and legs from smaller stock, so the entire joint can be cut on a table saw.

Here is the sketchup file as well: Root Joint for Trestle Table.skp

Welcome to The Creek Brad!