Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Source for high-angle toothing plane?

Source for high-angle toothing plane?

After Stewie's gentle prompting in another thread, I've gone off and read everything I could find on the topic, and realized that my exposure to toothing planes is grossly incomplete, limited as it is to toothed blades for low-angle BU planes. I'm therefore interested in acquiring a high-angle (80+ deg) toothing plane. There seem to be a fair number that look like reasonable candidates on EBay, though I have very little knowledge of the makers and planes in this category.

I don't have a hard-and-fast price limit - if somebody has something new or even custom on offer I would consider it.

Any suggestions or pointers on what to look for on EBay?

Thanks in advance!

Hello Patrick,

I cast about for a bit in the same manner. I ended up with a LV large scraping plane with a (fine) toothed blade, in part because I got a deal on the scraper plane and had a need for it as well as the desire for a toothed plan. Works great, very easy to adjust both angle and depth. But perhaps overkill here.

Best,
    Chris
    "You can observe a lot just by watching."
    --Yogi Berra

Years ago Woodcraft and I think Garret Wade carried the Ulmia toothing plane. With things like this after a while everyone who wants one has one and they get dropped from catalogs. I found the same plane (ECE) on the Dictum site for 70 Euros. 75 degrees, 48 mm wide. In Germany it is called Zahnhobel.

Hi Patrick

Why not just add a 75 degree microbevel to your current BU toothing blade. That will create an 87 degree scraping angle (on your 12 degree bed). How is that different from a vertical blade at 87 degrees?

I suspect the very high angles were only used for toothing veneer, while the current offerings by LN and LV, with their lower cutting angles, are intended for preparing interlocked surfaces.

Regards from Cornwall

Derek