Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to SMC. Looking for some Jointer / Planer suggestions

New to SMC. Looking for some Jointer / Planer suggestions

Finally joined the Creek. I've referenced this site quite a bit over the past couple years while researching and getting into woodworking. Awesome place and folks.

I'm still pretty new to woodworking but find myself getting to a point where I want to start having my own big power tools in my own little space for some convenience and control with some of my projects. I work for a company that specializes in Timber Frame construction. They are also general contractors and occasionally get commissions for custom woodworking projects, though this has slowed since the recession. Most of what I've done has been general carpentry and timber framing. Working with them, I've been introduced to many techniques and tools that I would call in the woodworking vein, whether on a large, timber frame scale or smaller woodworking scale. They have a decently outfitted wood shop that I can use pretty much anytime I'm not working, but I work quite a bit and have a young family and can't get away to work in the shop as much as I'd like.

Over the past year or so I've started to assemble some tools in my small (600 sq ft) basement, at first geared towards general carpentry and home improvement/remodeling, but am now wanting to move into at least being able to dimension my own lumber at home in my own time.

I currently work with a delta contractor TS w/ bies fence and custom formica top table, Dewalt 12" SCMS, and just was gifted a Hitachi 8.5" SCMS and Hitachi bench top drill press. I just bought a HF 2 hp dust collector, but still need to assemble it and buy all the hose/fittings/etc. I plan to build a thien baffle and upgrade to a .5 or 1 micron canister for the top.