Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kraft or Butcher Paper

Kraft or Butcher Paper

My stash of heavy paper (not sure what it was) that I used to protect my bench when doing glue-ups is just about empty. I'd like to mount a roll dispenser / cutter at the end of my bench. Something similar to: http://www.amazon.com/Bulman-A50030-...ulman+serrated

Questions:
    1 - what kind of paper do you find works the best for glue-ups: Kraft, Butcher, other?
    2 - do you have a similar roll dispenser that you could recommend?
    3 - other tips or suggestions?

Normally I'm too impatient to pause and ask about this kind of stuff, but I'm not in a hurry so might as well get your input.....

I use red rosin paper
    just because it is readily available at lumber yards
    Carpe Lignum

I have no experience with this but I would think butcher paper would be best because it is waxed on one side and nothing would stick to it.
    George

Making sawdust regularly, occasionally a project is completed.

rosin paper from big box store. cheap and works well

Check with your local sign shops. The transfer paper used for cutting vinyl signs is a great product. And Free... It has a shiny surface on one side which glue doesnt adhere to and paper on the other side. I use it daily in all kinds of situations with finishes, epoxy, under my wet stones during sharpening. Recycling it is cool too...

Quote Originally Posted by bruce buren View Post
    rosin paper from big box store. cheap and works well
    +1. Readily available at HD.

Edit - the rosin paper I get at HD comes in 36" width. The paper cutter in the Amazon link is 30".
    Last edited by Brian Tymchak; 01-30-2016 at 8:38 AM.
    Brian

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

I use the heavy duty brown paper that I get at HD. It is cheap and works well for me.