Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finishing my workshop..suggestions?

Question Finishing my workshop..suggestions?

I'm a relatively new woodworker. My shop is in my unfinished basement and is decently sized. I need more electrical outlets so I'm planning on on putting up studs to mount them on. So I might as well hang drywall and finish it off at the same time. I'm wondering what I might want to do before hanging the drywall. Should I run ducting for a dust collection system I currently don't have? 220 power on a few outlets despite not having equipment that run off it? Any other suggestions?

I don't think there is any chance I would ever convert this from a workshop to living space, so if I decide not to do something (such as dust collection ducting) it's not a big deal. Just wondering what others might suggest.

Look into a multi wire branch circuit. That way you can run one 220/110 circuit around the whole shop.

I don't think I would try to put dust collection in a wall. Also, do you really need to stud the place out? I wouldn't do it unless I wanted to insulate.

I'm leaning toward studding out for a couple of reasons. Organization is not my strong suit, so I'm hoping that finishing it will allow me to install shelves and maybe a french cleat storage system that will encourage me to be better organized. I also think it will be easier for me to keep it clean. And I'm planning on finishing part of my garage into a mud room. Since I've never done it before, doing my workshop first will allow me to learn what I'm doing a bit and practice in a place where mistakes wouldn't matter.

I would wire at least 3 circuits -1 for lights, 1 for power tools and general power needs, and then 1 for a dust collecter. I also have a basement shop, fully finished. I started with tools that use 120V. I am starting to look at upgrading tools and will have to run 220V circuit somehow. If you plan to close the walls, I'd recommend wiring in a 220 circuit.