Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: One of those days...

One of those days...

I'll start by saying I'm no expert at cutting dovetails. In fact, I've really only attempted dovetails a few times. My best attempt was my last, during a class.

I decided to make my wife something nice for Valentine's Day this year. Being a new woodworker, I wanted to start off...easier. So, I went with a simple, smaller, 3-drawer jewelry "chest".

I'm working on dovetails for the outer shell, when I notice that after I shaved my tails smooth on one end of the top board that they were a little skinnier at their bases than the other end. Flip the board around... then start shaving down the other side when... *SNAP!* Off pops a tail...

*sigh*

I guess I'll just cut off the end and cut the tails again. It's only 3/4" of an inch shorter if I do that. And yet, it still feels like a huge error. Not only do I need to cut off 5 more perfectly good tails, but I need to do them all over again on that end.

I'm guessing I'm not alone in making this mistake..?

Some days you get the wood, some days the wood gets you. Can you glue the twin back in place with a reasonable fit?

Probably not. The base of the tail is very small. Unless I fit the dovetails and glue it in as a nonfunctional piece, it probably won't hold.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Schubert View Post
    Probably not. The base of the tail is very small. Unless I fit the dovetails and glue it in as a nonfunctional piece, it probably won't hold.
    I hope others will chime in if this is a good idea but if this is one of 3 or more tails then it should be plenty strong even if this isn't functional.

Blog Entries
    I have fixed tails in a similar fashion. It is important that what remains will be strong enough to serve the intended purpose. It may be easier t make the project a touch smaller.