Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ironwood Machinery - Any experience?

Ironwood Machinery - Any experience?

Good evening, Creekers -

I've purchased a few SCM machines in the past for the shop, but my distributor informed me that they are no longer carrying SCM. He recommended that I look at Ironwood (repped by Stiles Machinery in the U.S.) instead. He said he can still get SCM if I truly want the Sandya 1 S wide belt I've been drooling over, but said that Ironwood compares favorably to SCM in the wide belt arena. I have no experience with Ironwood at all.

Does anyone have any experience with Ironwood products? I see on their Facebook page that they have been spotted in a Woodcraft store; not sure what that means.

Thanks in advance for any guidance and experience you have.

Thank you,

Mike

I've only seen them at shows but they are well made, usually at the same factory as Cantek. I think Taiwan rather than China. Dave

Talk to a Stiles rep and see what they can do for a Butfering. The Butfering 37" was not much more than SCMI machines. I bought a Butfering 43" a year and a half ago from Stiles. They included on site setup and training for the same price I was quoted with SCMI for just the machine. The Butfering is built much heavier than my former SCMI widebelt.

I have an Ironwood SLRS that I picked up at a great price, just a few years old. It is like many other asian rip saws, just painted Ironwood. Most of the Ironwood line is this way. Stiles has great support and parts availability though.

I still like SCMI for classic woodworking machines.

Greg Stahl

I'll sell you a 43" dual head widebelt cheap. It's got almost no hours on it.

Stiles is a bit more B2B sales oriented so you might post the same question to the Woodweb Cabinetmaking or Architectural Woodwork forums.

Code:
    http://www.woodweb.com/cgi-bin/forums/cabinetmaking.pl
    Code:
    http://www.woodweb.com/cgi-bin/forums/aw.pl