Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help building a dust collector

Need help building a dust collector

I have a wood master 3 horse blower that I bought used a while back that I tried to rig up with parts I had from my old d.c. The results have been very poor, so poor that I often don't use it with the table saw and only hook it up to my planer.

My first thought is to add a cyclone with a collection barrel and exhaust out side. My dilemma is about which cyclone to get and how to put it all together. I don't want to spend a ton of money but I need a solution that works.

The blower I have has 6 inch in and out. Currently I only need three machines connected, ts planer and jointer.

Thanks all, Joe.

A Super Dust Deputy is fairly inexpensive, $170.
    Gerry

JointCAM

Joe, tell us more about what you designed and how it is failing you. What impeller size, ductwork used and sizes, and types of fittings and lengths of runs and if you are using flex hose. Tell us about how you are capturing the dust and the filter if any used. A 3hp blower should be very strong I would think. If you add more components as is it may not improve anything if the runs are not properly done.

Sandor has a great book out there on dust collection called Woodshop Dust Control by Sandor Nagyszalanczy.

Bill Pentz site is very informative too.
    Glad its my shop I am responsible for - I only have to make me happy.

Since you already have the blower, you might look at getting an "East Caroga" cyclone - http://cycloneseparator.com/ - I've heard good things about them but haven't used one myself.