Thread: Stickley 746

Stickley 746

Hi all!

A newbie here, not just to Sawmill Creek, but relatively new to woodworking as well. It seems like there's a great community here, and I've had some help from members already getting some great supplies! Anyway, I'm hoping someone might be able to help in scaling down a plan I have to yield a smaller table. I've seen some useful articles on scaling plans from a photo, but I'm more looking for general design advice on scaling down, or any specific advice on scaling Stickley, A&C or Mission style furniture.

Anyway, I'd like to end up with something similar to the below table (Stickley 746):

(23H x 21 1/2W x 26D):

https://www.stickley.com/OurProducts...ission&finish=

From the table in this plan (27 x 29 x 29):

http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/412...FQ6LaQodGwkK8g

The table in the above plan is the closest thing I could find, and seem like a very slightly larger version of the bigger table (No. 747) in the same Stickley line as the small one I want to make (746).

I'm not necesarily looking for my end table to be an exact copy of the small Stickley table, but I'd like to avoid my outcome being too bulky. Is there anything you'd recommend against scaling down a bit (legs?)? If it's helpful, here are the dims of the components for the larger table:

Legs: 1 1/2 x 26 1/4 x 1 1/2

Top: 29 x 29 x 3/4

Corbels 1 5/8 x 13 x 3/4

Upper Rails: 3 x 24 1/2 x 3/4

Lower Rails 2 3/4 x 26 1/2 x 34

Lower Shelf 20 x 20 3/4 x 3/4

Spindles 1/2 x 18 3/4 x 1/2

That's a bit of info, but I'd very appreciative of any advice anyone is willing to offer!

Cheers,

Matt
    Last edited by Matt Borman; 02-22-2016 at 9:30 PM.

Blog Entries
    I suggest you make a down and dirty prototype using BORG lumber to determine the scale of the piece.
    After your design is complete, make the real table. You will probably make significant changes, I know I would.

Blog Entries