Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Better solution than wood is good mallet?

Better solution than wood is good mallet?

I have two wood is good rubber coated mallets that I got thinking they'd be good for my nerve damaged hands. Twice recently I've seen things that talked about the Loss of energy with these mallets. I'm wondering if I'd be better off with making a joiners mallet, getting a blue spruce, or something similar.

im trying to balance sensitive hands with weaker arms.

Perhaps a wood mallet, but with a soft rubber-like handle?

I've been using them for several years now. Sometimes I use a mallet and chisel all day long. I've not damaged a chisel handle, or my arm, using one all day long. I'll never go back to wood. I use the 12 oz. for normal woodworking and carpentry stuff, and a 30 oz. one for timber framing chisels. Don't let the theorists of minutia convince you they are no good. I wish I had back all the chisel handles that have been worn out, and all the time back I spent making wooden mallets that wear out over the years. I don't have an issue with my arms, but got tired of beating tools down.

Hobbyists seem to be most interested in theory, and how a tool looks in their hand. I'm more concerned with doing the work, but then, I'm not a hobbyist. I'd stick with the Wood is Good mallets a bit longer, especially if you have issues with your hands, arm, wrist, or elbow. Hopefully, you have the 12 oz. one. I doubt I'll ever use anything else.

Blog Entries
    Find yourself a leather mallet. I have one and it hits hard but transmits less vibration to the wrist. I got mine on eBay long ago. Tandy used to make them but I believe have gone to all urethane. Leather mallets are made with round stacked discs compressed with a big metal threaded end cap, then sanded on the lathe.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom M King View Post