Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lathe Tools

Lathe Tools

Hi, I am new to turning, but have done a lot of research. I purchased an 8 pc set of Harbor Freight lathe tools to learn to turn and to sharpen.

I was just about ready to build a Wolverine type jig, when I found a Woodcut Tru Grind jig, an Ace 6" grinder, with 5 wheels(Norton/3M Grey/White) for $130. Now I am attemping to sharpen my tools. I setup the Tru Grind on my Harbor Freight 8"wet/6"dry grinder, and I am surprised at how good of a job the wet wheel does, although I don't have anything to compare it to, because I have never sharpened a lathe tool before. But I have sharpened plane irons and chisels, and I definitely know what sharp is.

My problem is, I can't tell the difference between a spindle gouge, bowl gouge, roughing gouge, etc. I'm not even sure if the set included a bowl gouge. I'm trying to sharpen these tools by the standards that are documented in the Tru Grind manual, but need to know what I am sharpening, so I can apply the correct settings. I have attached pics of two of the gouges that I am having trouble identifying.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
    Jim
    Attached Images Attached Images

A bowl gouge has a deeper flute (the cutout in the middle). It looks more like a deep "U" or "V." A bowl gouge should also have a much sturdier attachment to the handle (i.e., not a thin "tang").

Those are spindle gouges.

ETA: the larger one is definitely intended for roughing. The smaller one also seems to be quite large and may very well be intended for roughing also. I'm not sure why they're supplied together.
    Last edited by Bob Bouis; 04-22-2016 at 11:22 AM.

Jim: I notice you live in the Pittsburg area. You should consider joining the Pittsburg woodturning club. I'm sure they can answer all your questions and provide some great assistance which will make your turning a lot more enjoyable.