Thread: My first live edge bowl.

This is my first attempt at a live edge. It had my nerves fried watching the sharp burl edge so close to my hands. I am a bit of a klutz so I imagined that stitches would be a likely possibility. But no, I took it slow and made it through with all my blood where its supposed to be.

I had trouble with the edges. I couldn't see the tallest points so they ended up thicker than the rest, and while trying to even them out I let the lower portions get too thin. Maybe a different backdrop might help? Anyhow, some c+c would be nice. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dave B West; 05-31-2016 at 12:07 AM.

Congrats, Dave, pretty nice! Looking forward to answers to your edges questions. I've been stumped by the same problem in much less impressive attempts.

3. Super nice figure in the grain on that piece. A good lighting source is crucial to making these types of bowls. Without a good light source, it is hard to see the ghost image......also, a good background for contrast. Pretty good for a first!
    Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

Excellent first NEB. Beautiful piece of wood. You asked for C&C and my suggestion would be to provide a bit more curve into the bowl bottom. That doesn't take away from a job very well done though.

Doug

To help see the edges as you turn, some times a piece of white or other contrasting colored paper on the lathe bed and up against the headstock can help. I also turn off the lathe many more times when doing NE pieces. Do hand spin the piece before turning the lathe on, and remember to keep your fingers on your side of the tool rest at ALL times, and never on the wood's side...

robo hippy