Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Avoiding having 23 gauge pins go out the side?

Avoiding having 23 gauge pins go out the side?

I am making a frame for my son's college diploma out of curupay. I have never used it before, but the color is great with the matting.
    I have cut the pieces, and have to route them and glue them together.
    I have never trusted just glue for frames and intended on reinforcing the corners with a couple pins. I drilled pilot holes with a drill just under the size of the pin in a piece of scrap; when I hammered the pin it, it split. So that is no good.
    I tried some #23 pins from a Grex nailer; but about half shoot out the side.
    So my question... are the pins more likely to go or the side if I have the nailer parallel to the grain, or perpendicular; or doesn't it much matter?

This might be my opportunity to learn to use a spline...

I'd use a spline OR drill a countersunk hole, drive in a screw and plug the hole with a plug cut from the same wood aligning the grain of the plug to blend in.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

+1 for splines. Their not that hard to do.

Good Luck with your project.
    Sometimes decisions from the heart are better than decisions from the brain.

Enjoy Life...

I feel your pain. I haven't used my pin nailer yet (Christmas gift) but I don't think I've ever used my brad nailer that I didn't blow a nail out the side. FWIW, I think holding the nailer perpendicular to the piece works best. Also, don't use a nail/brad/pin any longer than is necessary.

As an alternative to pin nails, consider putting contrasting keys in the corners of the frame. That's what I normally do with small boxes, etc.
    Cody

Logmaster LM-1 sawmill, 30 hp Kioti tractor w/ FEL, Stihl 290 chainsaw, 300 bf cap. Solar Kiln

Look at the chisel tip on the pins. The chisel edge should not be aligned WITH the grain. That's what causes the blow out.
    Bill
    On the other hand, I still have five fingers.