Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone here use VOIP?

Anyone here use VOIP?

We have a farm for a second home and are looking into inexpensive options for a phone. Do any of you use VOIP via your Internet connection? Someone had recommended Magicjack and I am just beginning to read up on things.

Have used VOIP at home for years. I work from home for a large corp and I use their VOIP system for all calls from my home (business and personal). Its as reliable as your internet service, so of course if your service is poor, your VOIP experience may reflect that.

Call quality is very good and very often far better than the land line we used to have. I also use the same VOIP service on my mobile phone so calls anywhere in the world over wifi are essentially free as they don't use my call plan. I have no experience with MagicJack. There are a lot of service providers out there so would shop around and read as many user reviews as possible before deciding.

MY cell uses Voip I use Republic Wireless which makes all my calls over the wifi in my house or anywhere that has wifi if no wifi is available then it works just like a regular cell phone, I pay $10 a month for unlimited Cell and text over cell towers and unlimited everything over wifi. doesn't get any cheaper thenthat
    If the Help and advice you received here was of any VALUE to you PLEASE! Become a Contributor
    Rabbit RL_XX_6040-60 watt Laser engraving/cutting machine Oh wait its a 3D Printer my bad LOL
    Lasercut 5.3
    CorelDraw X5

10" Miter Saw with slide
    10" Table Saw
    8" bench mount 5 speed Drill Press
    Dremel, 3x21 Belt Sander

We've had Basic Talk for about 2 years and have been nothing but pleased.

Managed to avoid it for years, but the local phone company finally forced everyone off copper, and on to VOIP.

Annoyed at the change, mislike the change in the billing and seriously put-off by 911 service being dependent on electrical power or a charged battery.