Thread: turning elm

turning elm

I've found a stash of elm that has been cut & stacked. It hasn't been split for firewood. Yet. Its in several different diameters & lengths. I wondered about turning a platter or two out of some of it, or maybe a bowl just to see what it'd look like. Living here in NW Kansas, trees are hard to come by. Would it be worth the time to try & turn a blank or two of elm? Or will it just fly to pieces? This wood is good & dry, so no worries about green turning. I'm pretty new to turning, & thought I'd ask here, & I'm doing some research on it, too. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for your time. In case you're wondering, My turning tools are just the basics. Matter of fact, they are the red handled set from HF.
    Sawdust703

Cuero, Texas--Not too far from the third coast.
    Brad--turn it!
    That set is good for spindle turning--not bowls, and will need frequent sharpening. For bowls I'd say look around and get either a bowl gouge (1/2 in is good), or explore a carbide tipped chisel.
    There's Elm that grows around here and it turns ok. Not sure if all Elms do, but from around here the grain in the wood interlocks and makes for interesting sanding. Has a pleasant scent too--as opposed to something like Cottonwood.
    Using Texas woods--especially Mesquite, the "Queen" of woods.

I've turned Elm and it turned very well. I agree with ^^^^^^ David, purchase a good bowl gouge and give it a try.

I like elm for turning; the prominent grain looks great in the finished bowl or platter or whatever.

Brad, is this cut and stacked stash logs, or boards? If the wood is still in full log form and it's been a couple of years since they were cut I'd expect a lot of radial cracking which should be evident on the log ends.