Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upper Kitchen Cabinets

Upper Kitchen Cabinets

So, I'm planning some FF kitchen cabinets and don't know if I'm thinking the process correctly. I have a row of uppers that will have different height of cabinets, imagine cabinets over the stove combined with regular height cabinets, for example. Now, I'm thinking that 3 separate cabinets will need to be built, then the FF's attached to each other during the mounting on the wall.

My question, since the FF extends slightly past the edge of the actually box, there will be a visible gab between each cabinet as viewed from underneath. I was planning on mounting some type of thin material to the bottom of the uppers to hide the gaps. What do you guys think, or how do you handle this?

Thanks.

2. I'm by no means an expert, but the underside of cabinets is generally not very visible without stooping and craning your neck, so I'm not sure any filler will be necessary. The cabinets we had installed in our kitchen don't have any fillers and the only time I noticed the gap was when I was installing some under cabinet lighting

I build cabinets for a living. I don't see the need for a FF extending past the carcase. Why not make it flush?

Otherwise, you can make a thin (like 1/4 ply) "skin" to fit the underside of the shorter cabinet. Pin with a few small brads.

Jerry, my thought process was to have some adjustment, in case a side warped/bowed slightly. Again, just a beginner at this stuff.
    Last edited by Mark W Pugh; 06-29-2016 at 4:28 AM. Reason: Spelling