Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharpening bandsaw blades in the shop

Sharpening bandsaw blades in the shop

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but those who don't know might be interested.

Since bandsaw blades are expensive, I usually sharpen them once or twice to extend the life. I use a Dremel with a thin metal-cutting disk and sharpen while the blade is on the saw. I've been using this method for many years.

I don't worry about sharpening the "normal" way by grinding the gullets - that would be a lot harder to do by hand and take way too long anyway (my 18" saw has over 400 teeth on a 3tpi blade). I simply touch the flat of the disk briefly to the front of each tooth, angled to match the shape at the tip. Move the blade by hand to the next tooth and repeat.

bandsaw_sharpen.jpg

I touch for only a fraction of a second which is enough, less than 1/4 second for each tooth. It is important to not overheat and "blue" the tip since most blades have hardened teeth and heat would destroy that.

The last few days I've been cutting a lot of 10"-12" green sugar maple (hard maple) log sections into spindle turning blanks. I use 1/2" Lenox 3 tpi blades, my favorite blade for turning wood processing, green or dry. Sharpening as described above made the blade cut like new again. In fact, I almost think it felt sharper than new.

If you haven't tried sharpening your own blades and want to save some money, or simply need a sharp blade on a weekend evening when your last blade is dull, you might try this. It does take a bit of time for a long blade but if you already have a Dremel and the little abrasive cutting disk, it's like getting a blade for free.

JKJ