Thread: New Sawstop and Outfeed/Assembly Table

New Sawstop and Outfeed/Assembly Table

First the pictures:

http://imgur.com/a/ERqyc

The Saw

I am fairly new to woodworking and had a Grizzly G0715P saw that I purchased last fall. I had problems with it for 6 months before finally sending it back. It had gotten so bad that I had stopped even trying to make things for a month, and spent 4 weekends trying to align the blade only to find alignment would shift any time I raised or lowered the blade. I had read that this model had this issue a few years ago and Grizzly claimed they had corrected it, but obviously not.

I decided to go all in with a 3HP PCS Sawstop and couldn't be happier. The difference between the Grizzly and Sawstop is ridiculous (in price and quality!). The precision I am getting now is so much better and I am actually having fun cutting wood instead of feeling like I am fighting the machine.

I do not have 240v in the garage (and I am renting, so I couldn't add an outlet), but I did happen to have an unused 240v outlet in the laundry room. So I build an extension box that plugs into the outlet and runs 25 feed into the garage. The box splits the wiring so I have dual 240v outlets and dual 120v outlets.

Outfeed Table

Initially I was going to make a Paulk style bench, but since I didn't need it to be mobile, I wanted something more robust. So I stole and merged various ideas around the internet and added my own engineering into it. I like how it turned out.

I had started building the outfeed table to match the Grizzly so it is a little short compared to the 52" Sawstop.

Top surface:
    * 3/4 ply
    * 3/4 MDF
    * 3/16 hardboard
    * 1x4 poplar

The ply and MDF are screwed together in a 6x6" grid. I didn't want to glue so it could be disassembled later, if necessary. The hardboard floats inside of the poplar trim so it can easily be replaced later.