Thread: Refinishing "old" dresser

Refinishing "old" dresser

SO my wife and I are expecting our first child, and instead of buying new furniture that will probably get destroyed anyway, I am considering refinishing and old dresser we already have. It's nothing fancy, just appears to be veneered with some unknown finish. Dresser is probably ~50-75 years old.

We would like the final product to be opaque black. Without knowing the current finish, would I be pretty safe scuff sanding, and then spraying EM3000 followed by black EM6000? I was also considering BM Advance as that also seems popular, but may need too much thinning for my gun. Any thoughts on a better approach? More project details needed?

I am new to finishing (especially spraying), but just successfully sprayed a base cabinet using BIN and topped with thinned Behr Enamel. I have a gravity fed conversion gun that I'm learning to use.

Thanks all for the help. There is so much information out there, I think I've changed my mind 15 times over which process to use, so hopefully someone can set me straight!

I can't tell you what to use, but I can tell you not to use BM Advance in a gravity feed gun. You will have to thin it far more than prudent to get it to spray. However, Advance is a great product and it goes on great with a mohair roller. If the dresser is mostly flat surfaces that could be an option. For comparison, BIN pigmented shellac primer has a Ford #4 viscosity of about 35 seconds, even though the TDS says it's quite a bit higher. Advance has viscosity of about 500 seconds - I got tired after 450 seconds and just called it 500 even. You need a pressure assisted gun to spray it effectively.

GF's Milk Paint also is too thick to spray with your gun but goes on great with a foam brush. You could topcoat it with GF's HP Poly or Enduro Clear Poly.

John

Thanks, I was hoping you would be one of the people to respond!