Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best wood for getting my feet wet?

Best wood for getting my feet wet?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to woodworking and have selected a few projects that should help develop my skills. Most of the projects use specific woods based on their grain appearance and the finished product and not necessarily the other properties of the wood but for me I have chosen the projects based on the skills involved to create the finished project. What do you guys think would be the most budget friendly wood to start with would be? I'd like something that has similar properties to the higher end hardwoods but maybe a reduced "exotic" appearance or rarity to help save cash on these skill developing projects?

I would suggest poplar if you were in Southern California. It is cheap, available and well behaved. It turns a nice brown after being exposed to even some sunlight. Check your local hardwood sources. Hardware stores are not usually a good place.

I'm in VA. I guess that piece of info may help. Hopefully going out this weekend to take a look at a few local hardwood dealers.

Pine will teach you a lot , it's inexpensive , smells nice ,IMO. Being a native New Englander Pine has been used since the pilgrims landed , for all sorts of things. From flooring to framing stock , to furniture.

If you where in Washington state I'd suggest Alder , which is also a fine wood , it's nicknamed "Poor mans Cherry" as with some stain and finish on it , it can be made to look like Cherry.

Cherry would be the next wood of choice, back where you are it may not be quite as expensive as it is here in Washington state , I moved here with the USN back in 1978 , so I've been here longer than I was in R.I. , but those would be three woods and the order I'd suggest you'd start your quest with , if they are available.