Thread: Lincoln 210MP welder review

Lincoln 210MP welder review

I recently acquired a new Lincoln 210MP multi purpose welder for my shop, and thought that I'd share my review of it with the SMC folks.

A little background info on me... I've been welding for 40 years, learned on oxy-acytelene with steel filler rod and progressed to stick, TIG and MIG in that order. I used to weld a lot back in my 20's when I worked at a fabrication and machine shop, and ever since then on farm and personal projects. My welding equipment includes a Miller 130 MIG for sheet metal work, and older Miller Thurnderbolt AC/DC stick welder, a Miller Syncrwave 250 DX TIG machine, and a Miller Trailerblazer Pro 350D engine driven arc welder with a Miller Suitcase MIG welder for industrial level MIG welding.

I had a gap in my MIG shop equipment that I wanted to fill; namely I did not have a 200A range MIG welder for shop use, and bringing the welding trailer over and hooking up the suitcase MIG was a bit of a hassle for quick shop projects. Because I don't use a MIG on a frequent basis, it is always a hassle to figure out the proper settings, and even using a cheat sheet it usually takes ten minutes or so of experimentation to get things dialed in correctly.

My local welding shop recommended that I try the new Lincoln 210MP welder, and stated that they had sold a lot of them ever since they came out last summer. They brought one out last week and I bought it after giving it a tryout. This machine is aimed at the home shop user, and has a lot of great features that makes it a true multi-purpose welder. In addition to MIG capability, you can stick weld with it, add a spool gun for MIG welding aluminum, and also add a scratch start TIG torch for TIG welding materials other than aluminum (no high frequency). It includes both 120V and 240V power cords, and was priced well at around $1,100.00 with only $250 more for the spool gun (which I did not buy).