Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plane ID

Plane ID

My son found this plane at an estate sale and sent a couple of pictures. Looks like a low angle block plane with an adjustable mouth, but a little larger than my current era block planes. There does not appear to be any manufacturer's mark or model identification. Although I have a selection of modern planes, I have no experience with early planes so am looking for additional information.

Any opinions on age or ID?

Also, I am puzzled by a couple of features. I have not seen the toggle holding the cap iron before, and presume that tightens the cap iron. Is that a common feature on older block planes where mine have a thumb wheel under handle at the rear of the cap iron? What does the brass thumb wheel at the rear of the plane do? Seems like tension on the lever would lift the blade off the bed. Also looks like a lever at the rear (with the loop end) might adjust the blade's lateral position. That is a feature not found on my modern block planes.

Perhaps it's not a block plane, but a small low angle smoother without a tote.

Thanks for your opinions and answers.

Tom

Untitled3.jpgUntitled2.jpgthreequarter.jpg

I have that same plane knocking around- I think the blade is marked Dunlap. I always assumed it was just a block plane.

-Michael

Made by Sargent, Their version of a Stanley #9-1/2 block plane. There MIGHT by a number under the capiron...706?

Brass wheel set the depth of cut.
    "Toggle" is Sargent's version, since Stanley patented theirs.

Lever the wheel moves has a pair of "teeth" that engages grooves in the underside of the blade. The bolt takes the place of the bar that goes across on the #110 style of cap iron.

Looped lateral lever, it is attached TO the blade, there is a "fork" at the other end, that goes against the bolt through the cap iron.

IF you loosen the brass knob out in front, there is a lever under it to open or close the opening of the mouth.