Thread: Painted Front drawers - material dilemma

Painted Front drawers - material dilemma

Hello, I just finished 4 bookcase/cabinets. My first REAL project. I have used some doors (shaker style) from my kitchen remodel and installed them as inset doors. Now I have 6 drawer boxes already built that need the front piece. I am not good at dado and such so I was thinking about making slab drawers. 4 are 13wx9h and 2 are 26wx9h. I was not envisioning to spend a lot of money (basement) but the rest is so nice that I want to look good and last. I have had pieces of pine that warp and I am not sure I want to go with pine. Any suggestion? I will not be using a router but I can sand the edges to replicate the small radius on the other doors. What material should I use? They will be painted. Thanks

Blog Entries
    Poplar or Maple are woods that can be painted that are relatively low cost.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

MDF paints very well, too, and is really cheap. Fill the cut edges with drywall compound. It will look ugly, but after you sand it smooth it will paint beautifully. The best option for painting is to use something like BIN pigmented shellac based primer first to prevent the MDF from swelling.

John