Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building Federal Style Table Part 4 – Oval Thistle Inlay

Blog Entries

Building Federal Style Table Part 4 – Oval Thistle Inlay

The design of this federal table from a Fine Woodworking article by Steve Latta, calls for oval “thistle” marquetry inlays that go on the top of show side of the legs.

I’ve never done any marquetry before and the “how to” descriptions in the FWW article were confusing to me; requiring marking/cutting from the front side for “stack cutting” and marking/cutting from the backside for “bevel cutting”. Also used thin, commercial thickness veneers which required taping on the backside and also taping with veneer tape on the front side, each of which had to be scraped/removed at some point in the sequence, which I couldn’t figure out.

I followed “The Fine Art of Marquetry” by Craig Stevens. The primary difference was Stevens uses thicker (~ 3/16”) shop sawn veneer’s. The benefit of this approach (at least to me) is that the show side of the inlay is always visible. Once you simultaneously bevel cut the contrasting inlay piece and the background, you glue the inlay piece in place – no taping/scraping. It was easier for me to picture.

Bevel sawing requires a bird’s mouth. This is what I made from a plan in Steven’s book. The top surface can be rotated (he recommends 8°) so that moving the saw vertically up and down produces a 8° bevel on the edges of both the background and the piece to be inlaid –theory is should wedge together to fit more tightly