Thread: Inside Shaker cabinet door

Inside Shaker cabinet door

I am building some Shaker doors for my daughters kitchen. I am using 1/2" MDF for the panel. Poplar for the frame. Not sure how to address the inside of the panel.
    If I do nothing there is a fine gap between the panel and the frame. When painted I think won't look right. I have tried a 45 deg bevel and a rounded relief but not happy with either. The panel and frame are flush in the back. What has anybody done with this situation? This is my first time making cabinets for painting. Have made lots with stain and varnish. I have considered taking the time and making the panel and frame so they butt, but that is very time consuming and still will probably have a line where they meet. Need suggestions.

If the panel is going into a rebate on the back side, which seems to be the way you have described it, you are going to have to accept the look of the joint.

There are ways you could dress it, but hey, it's the back side of the door. Consider just living with it, or telling her to live with it.

Here is some advice on the next set of doors, though. T&G the panel and frame, finish the edges of the panel before assembly, and don't use poplar. Use soft maple, a much better species for painted work.

Quote Originally Posted by Gene Davis View Post
    If the panel is going into a rebate on the back side, which seems to be the way you have described it, you are going to have to accept the look of the joint.

There are ways you could dress it, but hey, it's the back side of the door. Consider just living with it, or telling her to live with it.

Here is some advice on the next set of doors, though. T&G the panel and frame, finish the edges of the panel before assembly, and don't use poplar. Use soft maple, a much better species for painted work.