Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pricing furniture

Blog Entries

Pricing furniture

Ladies and Gents,

Is there a book / reference that any of used to price your furniture?

I'm going to do quite a bit of walking / calling / browsing the internet for customer prices of custom pieces. I'm trying to sell to interior designers and open to both commercial and residential. More interested in commercial, but we'll see how the future pans out.

I'm an engineer full time, so I like calculating things, but my problem is:

1) What takes me 4 hours will take a pro 1 hour
    2) I don't have an established brand, the pro does

Hard to calculate these things. Maybe find similar pieces around my market and drop the price by 10%? Another thing I've been toying with is taking materials + consummables + a new tool that I want = price since I'm just starting out.

I know this question has been asked a million times, I apologize for re hashing. However, the only thing that came up in searching were conversations about etching and sandblasting.

Cheers and thanks,

Andy

I suspect that you're going to be very disappointed if you are truly just starting out and trying to target interior designers as your primary customers, especially for commercial work. Interior designers want established suppliers with known product offerings, quality and lead times. They're not likely to risk their reputation on a new guy, and certainly not for a 10% savings. Do you have a portfolio? Have you done commercial work? Are you equipped and do you have the time, finances, and resources to break into the market? Lots of questions that you need to answer honestly to yourself to try what you are proposing.

What takes a Pro 4 hours to make 1 of takes a machine or cheap labor 1 hour to make 4 of.