Thread: Turning hollow glue ups

Turning hollow glue ups

I have little experience with bowl or vessel turning but have a lot of the necessary tools and a good lathe. However, I need to make an urn for my brother in law who passed away earlier this week. Is it safe to turn long-grain edge-glued polygons. I have some well-seasoned cherry about 7/8" thick that I was thinking could be glued into an octagon and then turned. The finished vessel would be about 6" od and 9" high.

Would it be best to cut fill pieces for the openings at either end or should larger flat pieces (with grain perpendicular to vessel grain) be glued across the outside dimensions and then attached to a face plate? I am not at all sure what to do.

I am reluctant to glue a solid block for turning since the grain would not be consistent around the outside.

Thanks
    David
    Rustic? Well, no. That was not my intention!

How about a small panel in grooves sort of like drawer bottoms are done.

I would encourage drawing this on paper, at the widest point (6" diameter circle made of 8 pieces each 7/8" thick) to make sure you can draw a circle that has adequate thickness at every point. Long grain works fine. With very dry wood on small vessels I have glued end pieces across the end and have turned a groove for a round piece. Both worked. Floating a piece in a groove is safer as long as the ashes are inside of a lining bag.
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!

Thanks for the comments. I just cut the bevels and set up a dry assembly. There looks like plenty of stock thickness. I may further tweak the angle since the joints are not completely closed on the inside. The dry fit is still over 6 3/4" in diameter so I have some room to play with it yet.

Any suggestions on fixtures to hold it while I turn? I am thinking about an octagon piece fit to the internal dimensions that is glued to a similar piece which overlays the end grain. Maybe I am overthinking this.