Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stain a lot of fence boards efficiently

Stain a lot of fence boards efficiently

Hi, I'm looking for tips on how to finish a lot of boards efficiently.

I'm staining my cedar fence boards before I install the fence in the spring....

I've tried spraying but find that I have to touch up each board with a brush after (probably because I'm not very good with the sprayer). So I'm left with brushing on the finish but I have trouble getting the edges nice and I can only do one side at a time. My process is like this:

- sand a bunch of boards
    - apply stain to one face and 2 edges, and put the board on a drying rack I've made. Repeat until all boards have one face and 2 edges done
    - after they dry, do the other side.
    - repeat.

I have about another 200 boards to go - so any tips on efficiently finishing large quantities of boards would be helpful, and very appreciated.

I'm afraid I just have to suck it up and keep on going but I'd like to hear what others do

Make a trough and dip them maybe?

Set up 2 temporary rails on trestles. Space out your fence boards about4 inches from each other. Spray the top face and edges from both sides of your set up so that you get good wet coverage. Let dry and turn and do the same. If you partly drive a row of nails on each temporary rail so the boards sit on spikes, you can turn them wet. It's a good job to practice your spraying. Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Lomman View Post
    Set up 2 temporary rails on trestles. Space out your fence boards about4 inches from each other. Spray the top face and edges from both sides of your set up so that you get good wet coverage. Let dry and turn and do the same. If you partly drive a row of nails on each temporary rail so the boards sit on spikes, you can turn them wet. It's a good job to practice your spraying. Cheers
    Thanks - I'll try this.