Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Minimax FS41 Classic v. Hammer A3-41 v. Minimax FS41 Elite

Minimax FS41 Classic v. Hammer A3-41 v. Minimax FS41 Elite

I have become practically paralyzed (over)analyzing the purchase of one of these 3 machines. I am a hobbyist with a desk job and currently have a 6" Powermatic jointer and 13" dewalt lunchbox planer, both with Byrd heads, so any of these will be light years ahead of what I have or need. Nevertheless, I like to buy things once, be confident with my purchase without regret, and keep them for a long time. Not real keen on switching tools all the time.

I am seeking opinions from people who've seen, used, touched these machines as all I'm able to do is read about them on the internet, look at pics and watch youtube videos. I think I've seen everything 10 times. There's a lot of info on the Hammers but extremely little on MM. So, here are some of my thoughts/questions. Any input is greatly appreciated.

1. Cutterhead - i'm torn between the helix Hammer and the 3 or 4 knife Tersa system on the MM. Because i'm a hobbyist I suspect it may not much matter since I will be using it lightly. I realize the helix is supposedly quieter but i've not seen anything that quantifies that. Furthermore, I wear hearing protection no matter the sound level and don't try to use it after people go to bed. And my dust collector is probably louder than the J/P. As for quality of cut, I can replace the Tersa blades with every project if I want to again since I don't use it much and the cost won't be too much of an issue. Having said all of that, it seems that the Helix is the new standard???

2. Fit/Finish - from what I've read, it seems people tend to believe that the fit/finish is higher on the MM and I assume?? higher on the Elite than the Classic, but again I don't know. I know you can get a lemon with anything but I'd like to steer the other direction if there's a clear path.