Thread: Storing Lumber In Cold Weather - Any advice appreciated

Storing Lumber In Cold Weather - Any advice appreciated

Hey all,

I am brand new to woodworking and even newer to this forum so forgive me if this has been asked before or if it is a dumb question.

I am in the process of building a farmhouse table out of non treated southern yellow pine and my current workspace is my backyard. The temps are fluctuating from low/mid 60s during the day to mid/high 30s at night. I am wondering if it is safe to store the finished table on a covered patio for 1-2 days without the wood twisting in any way.

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Ryan Cormack; 02-14-2017 at 3:06 PM.

If the table is to be used indoors the lumber should of been stored inside for awhile before you even started milling, assembling it. Wood needs to acclimate to it's surroundings. I.E humidity changes, temperature, etc.
    Being left outside i'm pretty sure the humidity is higher, the lumber will absorb this moisture and loose it when brought inside. How much it moves is any ones guess. Different species of lumber react differently. If you've left room for the wood to move you should be ok. If your joints are tight they stand a good chance of loosening up as the wood dries.
    Good luck, you could get lucky.

Thanks. All of the lumber has been stored indoors and has been dried correctly. The table is currently in my shed and my biggest issue is that once finally assembled, the top attached to the base, I run out of space to store it before moving it indoors for use.

Most of the troubles I have encountered from wood warping due to moisture are caused by uneven changes. If the table is complete and you allowed for movement. A problem might occur if you, say covered the top but the underside was still exposed.

When you say finished do you mean a finish has been applied? If so, you should have minimal problems