Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me understand high speed grinding

Help me understand high speed grinding

I have a strange theoretical question.
    I've been a woodworker 30 years. I know sharpening on a high speed grinder works without softening tools if you keep them relatively cool. We all do it. It's clearly true. But, I have never understood how it can be, that as an abrasive particle rips off a piece of steel so fast it glows orange as a spark, the exact point where it separates from the steel left behind remains so cool it's temper is not drawn.
    Does the separating glowing steel not heat up until it is fully detached? It seem as though at the moment the steel broke free the friction would stop so it must be heating while still connected.
    I just can't seem to wrap my head around it. Dose anyone feel they can explain it?

You have stated, more thoroughly than I can, why I never grind an edge.

Quote Originally Posted by David farmer View Post
    I have a strange theoretical question.
    I've been a woodworker 30 years. I know sharpening on a high speed grinder works without softening tools if you keep them relatively cool. We all do it. It's clearly true. But, I have never understood how it can be, that as an abrasive particle rips off a piece of steel so fast it glows orange as a spark, the exact point where it separates from the steel left behind remains so cool it's temper is not drawn.
    Does the separating glowing steel not heat up until it is fully detached? It seem as though at the moment the steel broke free the friction would stop so it must be heating while still connected.
    I just can't seem to wrap my head around it. Dose anyone feel they can explain it?
    That's a very complex question, and one on which opinions vary somewhat. Here's a simplified answer:

• Cutting the workpiece releases heat via mechanical deformation, just as a coat hanger heats up when you bend it back and forth.