Thread: Vise jaw thickness

Vise jaw thickness

First things first... I have been a lurker for a while, but finally decided to sign up. I am brand new to hand tool woodworking, but for maybe the last year or so I've been acquiring various tools and restoring them while doing lots of reading and watching of videos. I've done some furniture restoration previously, but never really built anything, either with power or hand tools. That all said, I've lurked for a while now and have accumulated a lot of information from this forum, so I appreciate that.

So, I have begun my workbench build as my first hand tool project. Outside of the box store cutting the lumber in half to fit in my car, everything is hand tools after that. I'm working on a modified version of Paul Seller's bench from his youtube video series. Modified as in just shy of 6 feet long, lessening the depth of both the tool well and the rear benchtop section, and slightly shorter aprons. I eventually settled on the Eclipse quick release front vise, which is on the UPS truck now.

TL,DR, What would be the optimal vise jaw thickness for this particular vise, if there is one? Or maybe it doesn't really matter? I have some 1" thick red oak laying around that I figured would work fine, and also leather scraps for liners. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Blog Entries
    Hi Nathan and Welcome to the Creek.

With a steel faced vise the thickness of the wood isn't likely as important as with a vise one is making with the full face chop of wood.

My thought was oak may not be the best choice until you mentioned leather for a liner.