Thread: Undoing pocket screw joints

Question Undoing pocket screw joints

I'm a total amateur, in the middle of quite ambitious dining table build (red oak, 12x4 ft)... My 'shop' is very limited (I do most of the work with hand-held power tools), therefore I opted for using Kreg pocket screws and wood glue for the tabletop joints. I'll cut rabbets in the longitudinal boards (8/4 thick), to join the ends of 4/4 thick cross-boards during the final glue-up (see attached pictures). I was thinking about joining the cross-boards temporarily with screws only, cutting the ends to size against the straight edge, undoing the joints and join them again with glue and screws in the final assembly. My question is: would this affect strength/quality of the joint? Any input would be much appreciated, thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

I use pocket hole screw many times on on structural sub frames and even on cabinet construction as long as they will not be seen. I have taken them apart many times without issue. I do not however use them with glue as I believe it isn't necessary.
    George

Making sawdust regularly, occasionally a project is completed.

Yea as long as they arent glued, shouldnt be any problem unscrewing them and then screwing them back later.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!

Like the other responses, I think you'll be fine.
    I see you have five pocket screws across each cross board. If it were me, I would only drive two of them per board for the first phase because it will be enough to hold things together for your cut. Then when you undo it and move on to the final phase, the majority of your pocket screws will be driven only once if that makes sense. Hope this is helpful.

1. Pocket screws can work as clamps to bring glue joints together.

2. Pocket screws can be removed and replaced (at least a few times) and maintain their strength. (but I'm not understanding why you want to assemble the panel dry first, then glue up later).