Thread: Widening notches

Widening notches

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to woodworking, and use mostly hand tools (I've got a planer, power drill and a circular saw and that's about it as far as powered goes). I'm in the middle of my first 'real' (i.e. not shop tools) project, a bookshelf with long walnut verticals (an adaptation of Fine Woodworking's "Bookshelves in a Day", though it's been more like "Bookshelves over the course of several months aka 28 Dados Later' with my skill-level).

Anyhow as you can see in the picture there are all these notches on the 7ft verticals. Unfortunately, I messed up a bit and need to adjust them a bit - basically widening a few of the so that at least the bottom shelf of the notches lines up with the other vertical's notch. So my question is: what would your technique be to widen these notches very slightly, like 1/16" of an inch or so, depending? For the dado parts, I've been able to use a carcass saw. But that can't work for the notches because it's a back saw. I'm thinking maybe paring chisels (which I don't have yet - tried with regular ones but they're not deep enough....) but would like some advice on how to do it square, make it clean, etc.

Thanks everyone!

Bobby
    Attached Images Attached Images