Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jet small Shaper vs. Router Table

Jet small Shaper vs. Router Table

I'm looking to upgrade my homemade Router Table setup to a more precise and easier to use setup. I'm just a DIY hobbyist, but in pricing out many premium Router tables with lift, motor etc..., the price seems about the same at a small Shaper, like the Jet JWS-22CS .

Theres a 10% off sale now, so I'm thinking about biting the bullet.

Any pros or cons to the small Shaper?

Can I use 1/4 router bits in it?

I have a small shop, 10x20, so size is very important to me.

The JWS-22CS shows a 1/4 and 1/2 router bit collet. Some will advise against using a router bit in a shaper because the speed is too low. I use router bits all the time without issue. The shaper will be quieter than a router. For me the shaper fence is the key. A food fence is worth it's weight In gold whether it be a router table, shaper, or table saw. The one on Jet looks ok. I went from a home built router table where my fence aggravated me to a 3hp shaper. Cost wise it made sense. I ended up upgrading that shaper for one with a better fence. Some will say the router table is more versatile. Shaper cutter are expensive but there are some from Grizzly that are reasonable. Amana and CMT 40mm insert heads can reduce costs also. A router table is less intimidating in my opinion.

I'm a hobbyist and I went with a router table. I opted for a really nice, solid, & super precise Incra Combo #3 which includes the larger 27X43 table, their LS17 System, Wonder Fence, and several accessories.

RTCOMBO-3-2T.jpg

Into which I dropped the venerable 3 1/4hp PC7518 router in a Woodpeckers PRL-V2 lift (I actually got the now discontinued Sidewinder option)
    Then I proceeded to enclose the table and divide the enclosure for storage and for dust collection.

100_1578.jpg