Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moisture, Movement and Meters

Moisture, Movement and Meters

I'm just getting started in woodworking and have built my first dining room table out of 4/4 walnut slabs. It looked great until the past couple of months and some of the edge glued seams started separating, and it seems like they are just getting worse. Picture below.

51139973851__6D5A086F-15EB-42F5-BAF2-8BBE578B7CE8.jpg

That seem was tight when I first glued it up. From what I've read it seems that the wood not being dry enough is the most likely culprit.

So, my question is what moisture meter should I own? I felt like I should own a moisture meter, so I went out and bought a Dr. Meter MD-812 moisture meter, but I'm now wondering if I shouldn't have spent more money on a more expensive model. Being a new woodworker, I have a hard time knowing what to spend premium money on and what is good enough. What do you all recommend for moisture meters? It seems like a really important part of the equation... or maybe I'm being too paranoid about it?

Where did the wood come from? Was it supposed to be dry? Can you describe/show us how you attached the top to the base? And did you add a breadboard end to the top? A moisture meter may not be the answer here.
    David

Quote Originally Posted by David Eisenhauer View Post
    Where did the wood come from? Was it supposed to be dry? Can you describe/show us how you attached the top to the base? And did you add a breadboard end to the top? A moisture meter may not be the answer here.
    I bought the wood from a local sawmill who assured me it was "good and dry" and ready to use. I've since learned it was air dryed, but never measured for moisture. It was my first large project and I followed the instruction of a buddy for construction. It included ripping the boards on a table saw with plywood used to get straight edges. Yes, no edge jointing - did I mention it was my first project?