Thread: Dovetail Help

Dovetail Help

I've been working on my dovetails for a few months, off and on. I think I have the sawing and chiseling down pretty good now. I always have the exact same problem though, they don't seat all the way. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong related to that though. I think it is either with my scribing or marking, but I'm not sure what I need to change. Is it obvious to anyone what I'm doing wrong from these pictures? You can ignore that one angle cut that is off, I know what I did there. It's the spaces at the bottom that I can't figure out how to eliminate. These aren't glued, just pushed together as tight as they'll go. Not much hammering needed, they always go together pretty easily, just don't seat all the way.

x2JtudJ.jpg

n2dZrlQ.jpg

This is in ash, but I've also had the same problem in cherry, maple, and oak. The only ones that look decent are soft woods like poplar and pine, I think because the clamps can compress them enough to hide the problem.

Thanks, Jason

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Lester View Post
    Your cut went past the base line. You need to save the line when cutting. If you are a bit short you can then pare to the baseline to get the proper fit. Same goes for the angle cuts. Do not remove the scribe lines
    Last edited by Pat Barry; 03-26-2017 at 4:56 PM.

Also, there MAY be a small ridge in the middle of the thickness of the tail board. IF you chop from both faces, there can be a slight ridge about halfway through. Just a thought.....(BTDT...)

You have encountered two types of mistakes, as Pat and Steven pointed out:

1) You sawed below the shoulder line on the left pin.
    2) The pin socket (center) and half pin socket (right) were not completely cleaned up, resulting in a bump somewhere. The bumps prevented the pin board from being seated to the shoulders. (From the photo, you didn't cut beyond the center and right shoulder lines.)