Thread: How Do You Chop Wide Mortises

How Do You Chop Wide Mortises

I've been working on a project that calls for 1" wide mortises. I don't own a lot of tools, and I'm pretty new to woodworking so the intuitive thing to do is go out and look for a 1" wide mortise chisel. However, I cant seem to find any that are made that wide. The only reason I can come up with is that pounding a 1"+ wide chisel through hardwood may take a lot of force? After searching the web and finding a couple of different approaches, I thought I'd ask here. What would be the preferred way to chop 1" wide mortises? I do see that you can purchase framing chisels that wide and of course bench chisels but wasn't sure if either of these were the best option.

One method I've seen online was to drill out most of the waist using a drill press then pair along the mortise walls using a bench chisel to square it up. Is that an acceptable method or does that open the door to accidentally widening the mortises by pairing along the walls?

Please help a newbie out.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnM Martin View Post
    One method I've seen online was to drill out most of the waist using a drill press then pair along the mortise walls using a bench chisel to square it up. Is that an acceptable method or does that open the door to accidentally widening the mortises by pairing along the walls?

Please help a newbie out.
    Use of a pairing block will ensure a straight, square wall and prevent widening.

Blog Entries
    You can chop that mortise with a 1" bevel edge chisel.

https://paulsellers.com/2012/07/chop...chisels-video/

There are some on this forum that do not particularly like Paul. I took classes from Paul and
    I can tell you his methods absolutely work.

I've chopped many 3/4" and 1" wide mortises with sharp bevel edge chisels.

You also can drill most of the wood out and square the edges with bevel edge chisel.