Thread: First Finishing Project

First Finishing Project

Hi Guys,

I'm new to woodworking and need some advise on how to finish and protect my first project.

It's a Walnut slab bench that will be used in the entryway to my home. It will see regular use by the kids and will probably have wet mitts left on it eventually. I've cut the required shape, filled in knots and cracks with black tinted epoxy, and sanded to 320. I think I'm ready to start the finishing process.

I've done a lot of reading over the last few days and can't decide on a finish, so I'd like some suggestions. Here are my criteria:

1. Not a spray on application, preferably wiped or brushed on
    2. Durable. Will be used by kids with wet mitts and snow pants which may drip on the bench
    3. Rich colour, but not stained. i want to maintain the natural look, but have the grain "pop". I want to retain the sapwood colour
    4. No annual maintenance. I know the bench will have to be refinished eventually, but i don't want to have to do it very often.

I've read that walnut is an open grain wood so do I need to use a grain filler first? I'm intrigued by the wet-sanding method (#2) suggested in this article. Would that offer enough protection or would I have to apply something on top? What about a proper wood grain filler like #1 of the same article?

Thanks for your time.

Graham

If you're willing to spend a little bit extra, try waterlox original sealer finish (ORIGINAL FORMULA - not VOC COMPLIANT FORMULA).

You can wipe on two coats, then sand with 400, then brush on two coats, then sand with 600, then wipe on 2 final coats.

Lots of ways to apply the Waterlox, but for durability and clarity, and pop, and color on walnut, and ease of application, it's hard to beat.

Quote Originally Posted by Prashun Patel View Post
    If you're willing to spend a little bit extra, try waterlox original sealer finish (ORIGINAL FORMULA - not VOC COMPLIANT FORMULA).