Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Older Grizzly 1018 Jointer -- worth it?

Older Grizzly 1018 Jointer -- worth it?

Ok gang, still 8" jointer hunting here in NC. Ya'll wisely talked me out of the overpriced used Delta I found. I'm still considering a new Grizzly 8" jointer when they come back in stock. In the mean time, I've found a guy selling a Grizzly 1018 for $300. It only has a single belt on the motor, so best I can tell that means it was built prior to 1992 ( and also means adding a newer spiral head is not an option). Tables and fence all seem flat based on pics he has sent me and they show minor surface rust. I have not seen the unit in person. Its a 2hp motor wired for 220.
    I have no experience from Griz machines that old. I'm perfectly happy with the more current Grizzly machinery I have.
    So the big question? .....scoop this older 8" jointer up for $300 and attempt to clean her up, or spend $1300 on new with spiral head??

Depends on your budget and priority. Trust yourself and make sawdust, either choice would work. I personally think the more troublesome thing is that you are basing a purchase decision on your desire to get the purchase over quickly rather than waiting for the new Grizzly.

I have a friend who is very much into home theater, I talked him into buying what he really wanted. He does not regret his purchase one bit.

Personally, I would buy the new Grizzly and never ever look back.

Seems like at $300 it's a good enough deal to get and add a spiral head later, or right away.
    Grizzly has these: http://www.grizzly.com/products/T27713 and http://www.grizzly.com/products/T27697