Thread: Advice on CNC Router

Advice on CNC Router

I'm thinking of investing in a hobby CNC router. I was looking at the large X-Carve and Shapeoko 3 XXL. I would prefer to find something more local and I came across 3D Tech Works out of Calgary. I'm considering purchasing their Model 750 (http://3dtechworks.ca/product%203.htm). It seems to be a much more robust model than the X-Carve/Shapeoko.

As I'm new to CNC routers, any thoughts on the attributes of the model 750? I'm concerned about the limited z travel of the X-Carve/Shapeoko.

Thanks in advance!

In practice, the limited Z-axis height on a CNC router isn't an issue --- how often does one need to work on >1.5" stock --- and for the Shapeoko (and most other designs) there are ways to get additional height when needed.

(ob. discl. part-time Carbide 3D support staff and long-time volunteer)

We've sold a fair number of machines up to Canada, and we fit as much support as we can through e-mail, our web site, FaceTime and Skype, and of course, package deliveries.

Can't speak to the Openbuilds/C-beam machines --- find their web site irritating since they tend to hide stuff on it in various ways (e.g., zipping up dxf2gcode and describing it as a tool able to do some unusual thing, but not mentioning its name).

Thanks William. I do like the communities at both X-Carve and Shapeoko. They seem very helpful and the forums are a great resource. I've seen you post there once or twice

I don't think the model 750 I'm looking at is the openbuilds concept as they advertise some openbuilds OX units as well as the 750.

I'm more concerned about clearing clamps, chainging tooling, etc. In 2" thick material that becomes an issue on carve/shapeoko, no? I may decide to do some carving on thicker stock but realistically I'll be doing most of my work on flat boards.