Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for a small sized metal cutting laser

Looking for a small sized metal cutting laser

Hi,
    I am brand new to the whole laser game. Just purchased my first Laser cnc... a 6040 CO2 80 w reci... thinking I can do all kinds of cool things with it.

Now my wife wants to cut some metal name tags out of nikkel, copper, aluminum etc... and now I have the wrong machine....

The idea is, for her to basically do funky little metal or alloy based tags on her clothing line, different shapes and sizes, engraved of course. And if I could do the odd business card for myself that would be fun too...

any leads on a relatively inexpensive ( not cheap ) laser cnc, suitable for cutting metal? up to about 1.2mm thick
    I need it to cut a maximum of 15 inches wide...

Thanks in advance guys!!

Metal cutting is a whole different ball game price-wise. Check Kern Lasers for small format, metal capable laser cutting machines. Expect $75k and up pricing.

Your best bet is probably a metal finish plastic like those produced by Rowmark, Gemini, etc. These are easy to process on your CO2 laser. Colors include silver, gold, copper and bronze. Check with your favorite distributor.
    Last edited by Chuck Phillips; 04-16-2017 at 9:18 AM.
    Epilog Lasers

Oxygen assisted CO2 with a high pressure head will do it. drossy cuts though, if you want to do precious metals then it's going to be a fibre.

Import prices:

Oxygen assisted CO2 - $7k - $12k (4 foot by 4 foot up to an 8 foot by 4 foot)

Fibre - $22k for a 300 watt, $30k for a 500 watt, $70k for an 800 watt...all usually 2500mm x 1250mm bed size

Kern 400 watt (cuts metal without Oxygen) - $180k
    You did what !

Small benchtop water jet. There is one in Kickstarter right now, but it may not be cost effective to run.
    Last edited by Bill George; 04-16-2017 at 12:25 PM.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa.HVAC/R , Cloudray Galvo Fiber , -Windows 10