Thread: High quality black art frame?

Blog Entries

High quality black art frame?

Ladies and gents,

I have a friend who is a full time artist. Her customers like black frames around her art and her originals go for a few thousand. She's asked me a few times to make her a high quality black frame.

Most black frames at the frame shops are wrapped MDF from what I can tell.

I'm not one with staining. In fact, I'm a total noob. Any ideas how I could make a high quality black frame? Maple + stain? Some other wood? Do you have a specific stain (make, model, color, whatever) that you can think of?

I really appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks,

Can it be paint? If so then you can use inexpensive wood. Avoid open grain woods like oak that require a lot more filler than closed grain woods. Seal it and then paint.

I have used ebony stains and added india ink (from an artit supply store). It will allow a really black color while the grain still is visible. Have done it with ash, maple, poplar.
    Jerry

"It is better to fail in originality than succeed in imitation" - Herman Melville

I make them all the time. I make them out of maple. Dye them black. I use Tranfast dye. Then follow with a ebony gel stain from the Borg. I think it is rustoleum. I use laquer for the top coat because it is quicker and easier to spray. You could use poly if you want. I think they look better than painted. I dye the glue black before assembly so I don't have a line and don't have to use woodfiller.

I frame for 3 local artists and do some in black. I have a local supplier of lacquer-based wipe on black stain, then coat with clear, stain lacquer. You don't need much in the way of experience to use wipe on stain. I use mainly poplar for black stains. It is inexpensive and takes finish very well.
    Grant
    Ottawa ON

Blog Entries
    Thanks for the replies!

Do you have photos of your work?