Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bowl Turning - Recess in the bottom to fit over Nova chuck

Bowl Turning - Recess in the bottom to fit over Nova chuck

I am relatively new to turning. I have seen a lot of responses on this and other forums concerning how to get the dovetail in the recess on a bowl bottom to fit over the dovetail on the Nova chuck (in this case a Nova G3) but cannot find any videos showing this. Given that I learn better seeing sometimes than by description it would be helpful to find a video reference of this operation.

I have tried a parting tool and am now trying a flat skew, but end up with catches and have not been very successful. I have seen the Nova Dovetail tool and may just buy that but, before I do I'd really like to be able to do it with the 3/4" skew I bought. Any suggestions on videos or a site that has more pictures? I think my biggest problem is how I'm presenting the skew to the bowl bottom, which is why it's catching. Thanks.

2. Your skew should be resting on the toolrest with the flat side on the rest, and the long point towards you. It should be in scraping mode, with light contact with the wood.....what we refer to as a negative rake position. Make the recess a little at a time with forward movement into the wood, taking a little bigger circle until you are at the diameter you need for the chuck jaws. You should be cutting at a hair above the center and not below it.

Sorry, I do not know of any videos, but this is a simple thing to do.
    Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSpLuWsVuYE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ZKRlMNC5mc

Search YouTube Randy and you'll find quite a few demonstrations.

Roger Chandler,

I'm sure it is a simple thing to do. I do have a couple of questions about your explanation. . .

1. When you say the skew should have the "long point towards you". I'm not sure what that means.