Thread: Flea Market/Antiques Store finds

Flea Market/Antiques Store finds

Went wandering today.
    I've been building electric guitars and basses for about 8 years now. I use a hand plane to flatten surfaces, cut the scarf joint for the neadstock by hand and join it with a hand plane, and hand carve the neck with various rasps, but other than that, it is mostly routers and other power tools.
    But now I'm slowly gathering tools to start making other things by hand.
    This is what I found today. Not a big haul, but there are a few nice things in there, I think.

CjVoP7c.jpg

First up, a sliding bevel. Just your garden variety contractor type, but it will do the job. The two chisels next up are Fulton, made in Germany. 1/4" and what I thought was 1/2" but turned out to actually be 7/16" in reality. I think these are really lovely chisels. I'm not up on vintage brands(nor any else, really),but they look and feel quality to me. The store I got them from has one or two larger ones, and I may go back for them next week if I can.
    Next is a Stanley No. 64 spokeshave, and lastly, two chisels I found at one of the flea markets for .50 cents each. They are wood handled, and the backs are stamped "Japan", but they clearly are nowhere near the quality of the Fultons, so we'll sharpen them up and see how they do. 1/4" and 1/2" respectively here, too.
    I also picked up a little 1.5" X 4"X .5" Soft Arkansas, but it is sitting in Simple Green for clean up, so is not pictured

Blog Entries
    The two chisels next up are Fulton, made in Germany. 1/4" and what I thought was 1/2" but turned out to actually be 7/16" in reality.
    Curious if the 7/16" is actually a metric size of 11mm. That may not be a common size in the European market.

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)