Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Waterfall Clamping:

Waterfall Clamping:

Hi all,

I'm in the midst of making a rather large edge-grain black walnut island top with two mitered waterfall sides. The finished dimensions of the top are 122"x 50" x 2" and the waterfall dimensions are 36.5" x 50" x 2"

I don't have clamps long enough to span the 122" run and I have no experience joining massive mitered corners this wide so I'm looking for some advice on how to get the mitered joints tight. I have a load of Jorgenson cabinet master parallel clamps and the Bessey K Body clamps as well, but nothing over 72". Hoping to use what I have here, I came up with this possible setup today:

Waterfall Clamp - Iso.jpgWaterfall Clamp - Side.jpg

I will be using domino tenons in the joints.

The cauls would be made of white oak, the corner squares would be made of 1.5" (2 x 3/4") baltic birch, which would be CNCed square along with parallel knockouts for the clamps. The corner caul would have 1.5" diameter holes bored for visibility of the joint every 10" or so. Since I haven't done this before, I don't know how much clamp pressure I should expect to be exerting for a super tight fit. Will 2 @ 12" bessey k body clamps at either end of a chunk of white oak provide enough strength to pull against?

Any tips you all might have are appreciated, however, I'm not looking to penetrate the surface with any sort of mechanical connection; not even dimple it.

Thanks.

You can join two parallel clamps together.
    https://youtu.be/_pEpUJc0zBI

Maybe the angled Zipbolt connectors would pull it together. Use Dominos and put a Zipbolt between each of the Dominos to close the joint. If you use epoxy for your glue, it should pull tight w/o needing a lot of force.

http://zipbolt.com.au/portfolio_cate...re-connectors/

John

You could use two vacuum pods and any F-clamps you desire.