Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Looking to lower the initial cost of my first garage wood shop.

Looking to lower the initial cost of my first garage wood shop.

I was hoping for suggestions to what I can buy of equal quality to the Grizzly products but save some money? I desire New not used but do not know if Lowes or Home Depot has anything equal.
    also need choices for Air Compressor, 18 & 23 gauge nail guns, trying to save enough to add a dust collector but don't want to sacrifice quality for price savings.

Here are my Grizzly quotes for various methods of buy from all at once to splitting up.
    I decided to go with floor models of tablesaw, drill press, and bandsaw and the rest as Table Top versions.
    IMG_3950.jpgIMG_3951.jpgIMG_3952.jpg

I am a Disabled Veteran on limited income not trying to be cheap just looking for best bang for the buck, any help will be welcomed.

can you let us know what type of work you plan on doing? cabinets, small boxes, etc.

what do you plan on building is important .

There aren't really any options to be honest. Grizzly makes affordable good equipment in entry level to pro level machinery. I wouldn't buy anything but small power tools from a big box store, or I suppose portable table saws from Dewalt or Bosch if I was in the market.
    Your best option is to buy used, but you said you don't want to go that route.

And of course we need to know what you want to build before we can recommend specific items.

The only large items will be my shelves and storage tables and such for the workshop, after that it is for craft boxes, signs, gifts, small hobby stuff in the hopes of learning to make items to sell for an extra $500 a month income, hoping these shop tools can help me buy a small CNC router later and the CNC help get an Epilog Helix Laser engraver/cutter. And might try to learn how to lathe in the future.